Michael Weinig AG

OPC UA WoodWorking Companion Specification
The Project and Customer
In 2021, basysKom supported the WEINIG Group during the standardization of the OPC UA Woodworking Companion Specification (WWCS) and a parallel product development implementing this specification based on the open62541 stack.
About the Client
The WEINIG Group is the world’s largest manufacturer of machines and systems for solid wood processing. In 2020/21, a joint EUMABOIS and VDMA working group developed a first OPC UA companion specification for the woodworking industry. WEINIG is a founding member of this group. The result is OPC 40550-1 – UA for Woodworking Part 1 – Vertical Interface which has been published during the LIGNA.Innovation event in September 2021. It has also been part of the umati initiative since then.
WEINIG - OPC UA Woodworking Companion Specification 1 basysKom, HMI Dienstleistung, Qt, Cloud, Azure
THE STARTING POINT
OPC UA companion specifications provide standard information models, which enable seamless interoperability and easier integration between machines and systems implementing a given companion specification. They are essential for achieving efficient and scalable industrial automation. The WEINIG Group has enlisted our team to support them in the standardization phase of the Woodworking Companion Specification and a parallel product development.
WEINIG - OPC UA Woodworking Companion Specification 2 basysKom, HMI Dienstleistung, Qt, Cloud, Azure
WEINIG - OPC UA Woodworking Companion Specification 3 basysKom, HMI Dienstleistung, Qt, Cloud, Azure
THE SOLUTION
WEINIG - OPC UA Woodworking Companion Specification 4 basysKom, HMI Dienstleistung, Qt, Cloud, Azure
Foto: WEINIG Gruppe

basysKom provided the WEINIG Group with technical support in several important areas, drawing on our experience with OPC UA and the open62541 stack.

  • Consulting on OPC UA modelling and overall experience with the technology
  • Consulting on how to best utilize the open62541 stack
  • Continuous prototyping efforts during the draft phase of the WWCS
  • Upstreaming of bugfixes for issues found in open62541 during the implementation of the various draft releases
  • Development of custom client-/server-components for the final WWCS based on the open62541 stack and Qt OPC UA

 

As a result of this continuous process, WEINIG was able to offer products with WWCS support the same day as the WWCS was published.

OPC UA@basysKOM

basysKom is an official commercial support partner for the open62541 project and the maintainer of the Qt OPC UA module. basysKom is umati partner since May 2021. We have worked with customers from various industries to help with OPC UA efforts, offering technical consulting (system-/software-architecture, OPC UA modelling, feasibility studies and prototyping), training and coaching (OPC UA, open62541, Qt OPC UA) as well as development services focused around these areas.

basysKom Newsletter

We collect only the data you enter in this form (no IP address or information that can be derived from it). The collected data is only used in order to send you our regular newsletters, from which you can unsubscribe at any point using the link at the bottom of each newsletter. We will retain this information until you ask us to delete it permanently. For more information about our privacy policy, read Privacy Policy

Michael Weinig AG

OPC UA WoodWorking Companion Specification
Das Projekt und der Kunde
Im Jahr 2021 unterstützte basysKom die WEINIG Gruppe bei der Standardisierung der OPC UA Woodworking Companion Specification (WWCS) und einer parallelen Produktentwicklung zur Umsetzung dieser Spezifikation auf Basis des open62541-Stacks.
Über den Kunden
Die WEINIG Gruppe ist der weltweit größte Hersteller von Maschinen und Anlagen für die Massivholzbearbeitung. Im Jahr 2020/21 hat eine gemeinsame Arbeitsgruppe von EUMABOIS und VDMA eine erste OPC UA Companion Spezifikation für die holzverarbeitende Industrie entwickelt. WEINIG ist ein Gründungsmitglied dieser Gruppe. Das Ergebnis ist die Spezifikation OPC 40550-1 – UA for Woodworking Part 1 – Vertical Interface, welche im Rahmen der LIGNA.Innovation im September 2021 veröffentlicht wurde. Seitdem ist sie auch Teil der umati-Initiative.
WEINIG - OPC UA Woodworking Companion Specification 1 basysKom, HMI Dienstleistung, Qt, Cloud, Azure
Die Ausgangslage
OPC UA Companion Spezifikationen bieten Standard-Informationsmodelle, die eine nahtlose Interoperabilität und eine einfachere Integration zwischen Maschinen und Systemen ermöglichen, die eine bestimmte Companion Spezifikation implementieren. Sie sind unerlässlich, um eine effiziente und skalierbare industrielle Automatisierung zu erreichen. Die WEINIG Gruppe hat unser Team beauftragt, sie in der Standardisierungsphase der Woodworking Companion Specification und einer parallelen Produktentwicklung zu unterstützen.
WEINIG - OPC UA Woodworking Companion Specification 2 basysKom, HMI Dienstleistung, Qt, Cloud, Azure
WEINIG - OPC UA Woodworking Companion Specification 3 basysKom, HMI Dienstleistung, Qt, Cloud, Azure
Die Lösung
WEINIG - OPC UA Woodworking Companion Specification 4 basysKom, HMI Dienstleistung, Qt, Cloud, Azure
Foto: WEINIG Gruppe

basysKom hat die WEINIG Gruppe in mehreren wichtigen Bereichen technisch unterstützt. Dabei konnten wir auf unsere Erfahrung mit OPC UA und dem open62541-Stack zurückgreifen.

  • Beratung zur OPC UA Modellierung und allgemeine Erfahrung mit der Technologie
  • Beratung zur optimalen Nutzung des open62541-Stacks
  • Kontinuierliche Prototyping-Arbeiten während der Entwurfsphase der WWCS
  • Upstreaming von Bugfixes für Probleme, die in open62541 während der Implementierung der verschiedenen Prototypen gefunden wurden
  • Entwicklung von individuellen Client-/Server-Komponenten für die endgültige WWCS auf der Grundlage des open62541-Stacks und Qt OPC UA

 

Als Ergebnis dieses kontinuierlichen Prozesses war WEINIG in der Lage, Produkte mit WWCS-Unterstützung noch am Tag der Veröffentlichung der Spezifikation anzubieten.

OPC UA@basysKOM

basysKom ist offizieller kommerzieller Supportpartner für das open62541-Projekt und Maintainer des Qt OPC UA Moduls. Seit Mai 2021 ist basysKom ein umati Partner. Wir haben mit Kunden aus einer Vielzahl von Branchen zusammengearbeitet, um sie bei ihren OPC UA Projekten zu unterstützen. Wir bieten technische Beratung (System-/Software-Architektur, OPC UA Modellierung, Machbarkeitsstudien und Prototyping), Training und Coaching (OPC UA, open62541, Qt OPC UA) sowie Entwicklungsdienstleistungen mit Fokus auf diesen Bereichen an.

basysKom Newsletter

We collect only the data you enter in this form (no IP address or information that can be derived from it). The collected data is only used in order to send you our regular newsletters, from which you can unsubscribe at any point using the link at the bottom of each newsletter. We will retain this information until you ask us to delete it permanently. For more information about our privacy policy, read Privacy Policy